Section 33-1902(A) of the Arizona Landlord Tenant Act states in part: "An owner of residential rental property shall maintain with the assessor in the county where the property is located information required by this section...The following information shall be maintained."
- The name, address and telephone number of the property owner.
- If the property is owned by a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, limited partnership, trust or real estate investment trust, the name, address and telephone number.
- the street address and parcel number of the property.
- The year the building was built.
Consequences of Not Registering Your Property with the County Assessor
Section 33-1902(C) states in part, that if the owner has not filed the information required by this section with the county assessor and the residential rental property is occupied by a tenant the tenant may choose to terminate the tenancy. First, the tenant must deliver a 10 day notice to the landlord requesting compliance with this section. If the owner does not comply with this section within 10 days after receipt of the notice, the tenant may terminate the rental agreement and the landlord shall return all prepaid rent and security deposit to the tenant.
Additionally, a city can impose steep civil penalties against any residential landlord not in compliance with the section. Section 33-1902(G) states in part that "if a residential rental property owner fails to register with the county assessor as prescribed by this section, the city or town may impose a civil penalty in the amount of $150 PER DAY for each day of violation after the date of" notice.
With such serious penalties for not recording your Arizona rental property with the county assessor it's just not worth the risk of not complying with the law. If you would like our help in properly registering your Arizona rental property with the county assessor call us anytime at 480-246-8033.